Skip to main content

By Invitation Only: Exhibit

A collaborative exhibition by Academy of Art University Library, School of Fashion, School of Graphic Design

About the Exhibition

Front row. Backstage. Limelight. All that stands between a style aficionado and any coveted fashion show is “a mere piece of paper” with one’s name on it. The almighty invitation! It grants exclusive access to the world of fashion week magic. Many people dream of getting at least one personal invitation each season. Now you have a chance to check out 40+ invitations at once! The School of Fashion, the School of Graphic Design, and the Library at Academy of Art University present BY INVITATION ONLY, a curated exhibition of unique fashion show invitations from major fashion capitals. The exhibition opens on March 1, 2017 and runs through June 1, 2017 at the Academy of Art University Library on the 6th Floor of 180 New Montgomery. The exhibition is open to the Academy community during regular library business hours.

You can learn more about this exhibit by reading the Fashion School Daily article.

Invitation List

Chanel

Haute Couture Autumn/Winter 2009/10

Tuesday 7 July 2009 at 21h00

Grand Palais

Avenue Winston Churchill Paris 8 ème

Fatima Lopez

10th Anniversary Show & Party

27/09/08, 8pm

Folies Bergere

32 Rue Richer 75009 Paris

Fatima Lopez

10th Anniversary Show & Party

27/09/08, 8pm

Folies Bergere

32 Rue Richer 75009 Paris

Ivana Helsinki

Lonely Tiger Collection

Saturday, September 27th at 2pm

Showcase, under the Bridge

Port des Champs Elysees, Pont Alexandre III 75008 Paris

Manish Arora

Spring Summer 2009

Tuesday, September 30th 2008 at 3:30pm

The Cirque D’Hiver

110 Rue Amelot 75011 Paris

BCBGMAXAZRIA

Fall 2008

Friday, February 1, 2008 at 3pm

The Tent at Bryant Park

Dolce & Gabbana

Women’s Collection Autumn Winter 1999-2000

Thursday 4th of March 1999 1:30pm

via San Damiano, 9 Milan 

h.xan koca

January 31 at 11:00

Mercedes Benz Fashion Week

Berlin Bebelplatz 10117 Berlin

h.xan koca

January 31 at 11:00

Mercedes Benz Fashion Week

Berlin Bebelplatz 10117 Berlin

Issey Miyake

Autumn/Winter 1997-1998

Tuesday, March 11, 1997 at 16h30

Arc de Triomphe du Carousel du Louvre

Salle Delorme

Place du Carrousel du Louvre 75001 Paris

Ou..Access Au 99 Rue De Rivoli 75001 Paris

Jean Paul Gaultier

Women’s Autumn/Winter 2001/2002

14th March 2001 at 20H.30

Le meriredi, Carrousel du Louvre

Salle le Nôtre, 99 rue de Rivoli 75001 Paris 

Manish Arora

Spring Summer 2009

Tuesday, September 30th 2008 at 3:30pm

The Cirque D’Hiver

110 Rue Amelot 75011 Paris

Manish Arora

Spring Summer 2009

Tuesday, September 30th 2008 at 3:30pm

The Cirque D’Hiver

110 Rue Amelot 75011 Paris

Songzio

2012 Fall/Winter Songzio Paris Men’s Collection

January 22nd, 2012 at 2pm

Espace des Blancs Manteaux

1 Bis Rue des Hospitalières Saint Gervais Paris 4e

Tess Giberson

Collage - Fall 2011

Friday, February 11th 9:30-10:30am

The Box at Lincoln Center

New York, NY

Desigual

Spring/Summer 2014 Collection

Thursday September 5th 3:00pm

Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week

The Theatre at Lincoln Center

enter Columbus Avenue at 63rd Street11

Academy of Art University

Spring 2012 Collections

Friday September 9th 2011 8PM

Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week

The Theatre Lincoln Center

Columbus Avenue at 63rd Street New York, New York 

Lassair

Fall 2008

Monday Feb 4 @ 7PM

The Promenade, Bryant Park Entrance

Sixth Avenue @ 41st Street, New York

Celine

Spring-Summer 2008

Thursday October 4th at 4:30pm

Espace Éphémère du Jardin des Tuileries

enter at the Grille d’Honneur Place de la Concorde 75001 Paris 

Christian Lacroix

Haute Couture Autumn Winter 2004-2005

Wednesday July 7th 2004 at 17:00

l’école nationale supérieure des beaux-arts

14, rue Bonaparte, Paris VI 

Desigual

Spring/Summer 2014 Collection

Thursday September 5th 3:00pm

Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week

The Theatre at Lincoln Center

enter Columbus Avenue at 63rd Street11

Dolce & Gabbana

Women’s Spring - Summer Collection ’96

Thursday 5th of October ‘95 18,30

Rolling Stone, C.so XXII Marzo, 32 

Jean Paul Gaultier

Haute Couture Spring/Summer 2013

Wednesday 23rd of January  at 14h30

325 rue Saint- Martin, Paris 3e 

Georges Chakra Couture

Couture Spring/Summer 2004

Monday 19th of January 2004 at 17H30

Palais Brongniart

Place de la Bourse 75002 Paris 

Lacoste

Spring/Summer 2009 Collection

Saturday September 6th 2008 at 10:00am

The Tent, Bryant Park

41st Street at 6th Avenue, New York

Lacoste

Spring/Summer 2009 Collection

Saturday September 6th 2008 at 10:00am

The Tent, Bryant Park

41st Street at 6th Avenue, New York

Miss Sixty

Spring/Summer 2008

Thursday, September 6, 2007 at 10am

The Tent at Bryant Park

Nicola Trussardi

Unexpected

Thursday, February 24, 2000, from 18.30 to 22.00

Marino all Scala

Piazza della Scala 5 Milan

Y-3

Autumn Winter 2012-13 – Men’s/Women’s Collection

Sunday February 12th at 5PM

82 Mercer St. BTWN Broome/Spring St. NYC 

Invitation List

Georgio Armani PRIVE

Fall/Winter 2010-2011 Fashion Show

Tuesday July 6 at 11:00 AM

Espace Vendôme

7 Espace Vendôme Paris 1ER

Depesha & Thom Browne

Aurora Fashion Week Russia

Official “American Program” Cocktail Reception

Thursday April 12th 22:00

Mansarda

Saint-Petersburg Russia 3 Pochtamtskaya St. 

Narciso Rodriguez

Fall/Winter 98-99 Collection

Sunday, March 1, at 18:30

Via Dell’Aprica, 12 - Milan

Versace Versus

Women Autumn/Winter 2003/04

Tuesday, March 4, 2003 at 8:30pm

Studio 2000 – Via Malipiero 22 Milan

Versace Versus

Women Autumn/Winter 2003/04

Tuesday, March 4, 2003 at 8:30pm

Studio 2000 – Via Malipiero 22 Milan

Féraud

haute-couture Spring/Summer 2002 collection by Yvan Mispelaere / Monday 21st of January 2002 at 20:00 / 18 Rue De Paradis – 75010 Paris