Skip to main content

Architecture: Books + eBooks

A Subject Guide for the School of Architecture.

Architectural Collection at Brannon

All required and recommended books for Architecture classes will be housed in the Architectural Collection at the Brannon Street location in Room 122A. Additionally, a small number of architecture related reference books are also housed in this collection.

You can also use our website to request library items be delivered to you at the Brannon building - use the Request button in book records and select the Architecture Hold Shelf as your pickup location.

Interlibrary Loan with Link+

Link+ is a union catalog of over 9 million contributed holdings from participating libraries in California and Nevada. AAU students, faculty and staff can electronically request items not available at the AAU Library and have them delivered for check out. Link+ may be accessed directly at http://linkencore.iii.com or by clicking the Search Link+ button on the library’s search pages. Link+ items will arrive at the AAU Library in 2 to 4 days and an email message will be sent letting you know they have arrived. The loan period for books is 21 days, with one 21-day renewal. There is no charge to request or borrow Link+ items.

 

Search Library Resources

Search Library Resources
Keyword Title AuthorAdvanced Search

Use this search box to find items in the AAU Library catalog.

How to Access Ebooks

There are two ways to access the Academy of Art ebooks collections: 1) by searching the Library Catalog and 2) by searching the ebrary and EBSCO ebook databases individually. 

1. Search the Library Catalog

Ebooks listed in the library catalog will have [e-book] in their title and their location will be "Online Resource." Click on the title of the book and you will reach the ebook's item page. Click on the link in the yellow bar in the middle of the page to access the e-book. The book will open in a new window. 

You can use the Advanced Search function to have the the library catalog limit your search results to ebooks. Type in the title or keywords for the book that you would like, then, under Material Type, select "ebooks" from the drop down menu. Your search results will include only ebook titles. 

2. Search the ebrary and EBSCO ebook databases directly.

The Library purchases ebooks on two different platforms. To search these directly, click on either ebrary or EBSCO. Once there, you can use the search functions to find relevant titles. Ebrary offers over 9,000 titles, while EBSCO is a small collection of only 120 titles. 

Click here for a full guide to using AAU Library ebooks. 

Ebook Databases

Call Number Ranges for Browsing

Interested in browsing books in your subject area?  This is where you can find them in the Library!

Library of Congress Subject Headings for Architecture
HT Urban Planning
KFC813 California Building Laws
NA Architecture
NC750 Drawing: Perspective
NC825 Drawing: Buildings / Interior Design / Interiors
NK Interior Architecture and Design
SB Landscape Architecture and Design
TA Structural Engineering / Transportation Engineering
TF Architecture of Transportation
TG Bridge Engineering
TH Building Construction
TJ163.5 Energy Efficient Design
TK425 - TK4399 Lighting Design
TR659 Architectural Photography

 

Course Reserves

Course Reserve Materials for Architecture classes are housed at the 601 Brannon Building in Room 122A. Course Reserve Materials for all other classes are housed in the Library. The library purchases copies of textbooks for current onsite classes, and where available purchases the e-book version of textbooks for online courses. Print copies are on Course Reserve at the Library, which means that they are available for use within the library for a one hour time period. This ensures that all students are able to access these popular titles. You can search the library catalog for your course reserve items by course number using the Course Reserves search page. Course Reserves are kept behind the Circulation Desk near the entrance to the Library.

Book Checkout Policies

Undergraduates

Circulating books:

7 books for 14 days. 2 renewals allowed. 

Link+ books:

3 books for 21 days. 1 renewal allowed.

 

Graduate Students and Faculty

Circulating books: 

10 books for 14 days. 2 renewals allowed.

Link+ books:

3 books for 21 days. 1 renewal allowed. 

 

Department Directors

Circulating books:

10 books for the duration of the semester. Books must be returned by the last day of the semester in which they were checked out.

Link+ books:

3 books for 21 days. 1 renewal allowed.