Skip to main content

Jewelry and Metal Arts: Digital Images

A Subject Guide for the School of Jewelry and Metal Arts

geometric necklace

Jeff Wise, Hard Candy, 1994

Copyright and Fair Use

The websites listed on this page are for reference and research purposes only.

Usage guidelines vary widely by resource. Some images are open-access and free to use, while others may require a licensing fee. It is every student’s ethical responsibility to evaluate the usage guidelines when choosing to reproduce any image to avoid copyright violation.

Respect the intellectual property of others and use your best judgment when deciding to reproduce an image, and always credit your source!

Faculty Digitization Requests

Faculty can submit requests to the Visual Resources Librarian at any time to have new images digitized locally and uploaded to LUNA to support their specific courses. If you would like more information about the faculty digitization request process, please contact Sean Briscoe at (415) 618-3817 or sbriscoe@academyart.edu.

Luna Image Database

How to Save Metadata with Images Exported from LUNA

At this time, images exported from LUNA do not include the accompanying metadata. Metadata provides the information necessary for identification and citation of an image.

This guide gives recommended methods to enable you to save image metadata so you will be able to quickly and easily access this information for your research and studies.

Citing Digital Images from the Internet or an Online Database

Format:

Artist’s last name, first name. Title of artwork. Year. Name of institution/private collection housing artwork. Title of database or website. Publisher/sponsor of database or website. Medium consulted. Date of access. <URL (optional)>.

Note about publisher/sponsor: When known, include if it is not related to the housing institution/collection; is a parent entity of the database or website; or offers the source in additional formats. 

URLs are now an optional component of a citation, but it is still recommended to include this information if the reader will not be able to locate a resource without it, or it is part of an instructor’s requirements.

When providing a URL, enclose the complete address in angle brackets following the date of access, period, and a space. End the entire entry with a period after the closing angle bracket:

Examples without URL:

Braun, Adolphe. Flower Study, Rose of Sharon. c. 1854. Metropolitan Museum of Art.Grove Art Online. Oxford University Press. Web. 2 June 2011.

Eggleston, William. Memphis. c. 1969. Museum of Mod. Art. Academy of Art University Collection, LUNA. Academy of Art University. Web. 27 Apr. 2011.

Example with URL:

Cloix, Emmanuel. BROUSSAI 2 visu. 2007. Wikimedia Commons. Wikimedia Foundation. Web. 1 June 2011. <http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:BROUSSAI_2_visu.jpg> .

View this Image Citation Guide (PDF) for more information on citing images. 

See Sections 5.6.1, 5.6.2, and 5.7.6 of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers for more information.

Image Research Help

Do you need help finding specific images in LUNA or on the Web but can't make it to the library to talk to the Visual Resources Librarian? Submit your question and our Visual Resources Librarian will get back to you, usually within 24 hours, Monday through Friday.

Other Resources for Finding Images

engraved gem of firgures

Gemma Augustea, 1st century CE