Skip to main content

Materials Library: Getting-Started

Materials Library from Material ConneXion

Materials Library at the AAU Library

The Academy of Art University has a new materials library! Working with Material ConneXion, the world's largest library of unique, innovative and sustainable materials, the collection provides a wide range of material samples for students and faculty to explore, from textiles to building materials and many areas in between. The materials library is located in the AAU Library on the 6th Floor of 180 New Montgomery.

Material categories include carbon-based, cement-based, ceramics, glass, metals, naturals, polymers, and process.

materials

What Is It?

Material ConneXion is the leading global platform for material solutions and innovation. The Academy of Art University has partnered with Material ConneXion to establish a custom library of material samples. The collection provides students and faculty the opportunity to have an interactive experience with physical material samples that are paired with an online database that provides comprehensive information on the featured material as well as other materials in the same category. Material ConneXion was built on the belief that Every Idea has a Material Solution™; they are the trusted advisor for Fortune 500 companies, smaller forward-thinking companies, and government agencies seeking a creative or competitive edge through strategic material selections.

How Do I Access It?

To access the online database go to library.academyart.edu. From the library homepage use the dropdown menu under Find Resources to navigate to the Online Resources page. You can access the database by clicking on the Material ConneXion Link. 

Alternately, simply select the link below to access the database when you are on campus. If you are accessing the database remotely you will be asked to log in using your AAU Library credentials.

How Do I Create an Account?

To use the database in conjunction with the materials library you need to create an account within the database. Select the Personal Account link in the top right-hand corner of the database homepage. 

You will use your Academy of Art University email address (@art.edu, @i.art.edu, or @academyart.edu) to sign up. 

Once you are logged in to your personal account you can use a QR code scanning app on a smart phone or tablet to scan the QR code on a material's tabula to access more information about the material sample in the Material ConneXion database.

How Does This Help Me?

Material ConneXion is an important resource for artists and designers – anyone who makes or designs physical objects. Material ConneXion give you hands on experience with materials used in the industry as well as access to a comprehensive database that provides important information regarding the material, the manufacturer, and ordering information. 

Materials Library Hours

Monday 1-5pm

Tuesday 1-5pm

Wednesday 2-6pm

Thursday 2-6pm

Friday 1-5pm

Saturday 3-4pm

Sunday 3-4pm

Materials Library Tour

For Faculty Only:

If you would like to bring your class to the library for a guided tour of the materials library, please fill out the form at the linked here. You will be contacted by a librarian to arrange a time and discuss the details of your visit.

Related Majors

The Materials Library is open to all students at AAU. Below are the subject guides for majors specifically related to the materials library.