Skip to main content

Music Production & Sound Design for Visual Media: Periodicals and Ejournals

A Subject Guide for the School of Music & Sound Design for Visual Media

Print Music Production & Sound Design Periodicals

All periodicals below are located in the Periodicals section at the Library.  Click a link below for catalog call number.  Please visit the circulation desk if you have questions about locating these periodicals.  

Electronic Musician

Electronic Musician (trade periodical): Presents articles and product news for the music and recording industry.  This periodical is also available online.

Mix

Mix (trade periodical): Professional audio and music production.

Sight and Sound

Sight & Sound (popular periodical): A publication of the British Film Institute. Feature articles and interviews on recent motion pictures, notes on festivals, book reviews and film and video reviews.  This periodical is also available online.

Current and Bound Print Periodicals

The Academy of Art Library subscribes to nearly 200 periodicals that are housed in two locations within the library, the Current Periodicals tower and the Bound Periodicals stacks. The Current Periodicals tower is located in the library's group study area. Periodicals are shelved alphabetically by title with the latest issue displayed. If you lift up the shelf that the latest issue is on, you will find the previous issues from the current calendar year. At the end of the year, periodicals are bound and placed in our Bound Periodicals stacks adjacent to the Current Periodicals tower. The periodicals are left intact and placed together in a single volume. Please note, many of the periodical titles the library subscribes to in print are available to read in full-text online using the library's databases.

Understanding Periodicals

A periodical is a term used to describe any publication that is issued periodically — daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, or at some other interval. Examples of periodicals include newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. It is important to understand the difference between types of periodicals in order to find the most relevant materials for your information need. 

Popular: Popular periodicals are also known as consumer magazines. They are directed at the general public, and can cover a broad or narrow topic of interest. They usually contain short articles on a variety of topics written by various authors in an informal style. They are useful for their coverage of current events and popular opinion.

Trade: Trade periodicals are also known as professional magazines. They are geared towards the interests of a specific industry or occupation. Articles usually fall somewhere between popular and scholarly—short to medium in length, can contain some advertisements or illustrations, and may or may not contain a bibliography. They are useful for their “insider” coverage of industry trends, practices, and opinions.

Academic: Academic periodicals are also known as scholarly journals or peer-reviewed journals. Written by and for professionals in a particular field, usually employing industry jargon or sophisticated terminology. They consist of original research and commentary on current developments within a specific discipline. Articles are often lengthy, include minimal illustrations and advertisements, and almost always include a bibliography. Useful for their original and rigorous approaches to problem solving by experts in a particular field.

Citing Online Articles and Databases

Format:

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Journal or Magazine, vol., issue, Publication Date, pages. Title of Database, DOI or URL. Date of access (optional).

URLs are now a required component of a citation. Providing the date of access is optional.

Example - Article from Academic Search Premier:

McCarthy, Erin. “10 Scenes That Changed Movie History.” Popular Mechanics, vol. 184, no. 1, Jan. 2007, pp. 64-65. Academic Search Premier, 0-search.ebscohost.com.library.academyart.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=24623655&site=ehost-live. Accessed 23 Feb. 2016.

Reference Help

Ask a Librarian

Do you have a reference question, but can't make it to the library to talk to a librarian? Submit your question here and one of our librarians will get back to you within 24 hours, Monday through Friday. During business hours you can give us a call at 415-618-3842 to speak to a librarian.

If you would like individual research help, you can also use the Ask a Librarian link above to schedule an appointment with a librarian for a research consultation. You can meet with a librarian in person, online, or on the phone.

This service is available to currently enrolled Academy of Art University students and faculty only.

Ejournals and Online Music Production & Sound Design Periodicals

To access: 

The Library provides remote access to journals, magazines, newspapers, and Ebooks through EBSCO. To access these resources from off-campus, when prompted, enter your name and the 8-digit student or faculty ID number located on the front of your AAU ID card.

Click an image or link below.  Then, click the year under All issues to select a particular issue.  Or, click Search within this publication to search all issues.  Add keywords to your search by selecting Advanced Search

Aesthetica Magazine

Aesthetica (popular periodical)UK based arts and culture publication that covers visual arts, literature, music, theater and film.  Full text access.

Computer Music Journal

Computer Music Journal (academic periodical): Concentrates on skills, technologies, and promises of digital sound and musical applications of computers. Current year abstracts only.  Previous years full text access.

Contemporary Music Review

Contemporary Music Review (academic periodical): Provides a forum where new tendencies in composition can be discussed in both breadth & depth.  Current year abstracts only.  Previous years full text access.

Electronic Musician

Electronic Musician (trade periodical): Presents articles and product news for the music and recording industry.  This periodical is also available in print.  Full text access.

Music and the Moving Image

Music and the Moving Image (academic periodical): Explores the relationship between music and the entire universe of moving images (film, television, music videos, computer games, performance art, and web-based media) through articles, reviews and interviews.   Current year abstracts only.  Previous years full text access.

Music in Art: International Journal for Music Iconography

Music in Art: International Journal for Music Iconography (academic periodical): Covers music iconography and the relationship between music and art.  Full text access.

Music, Sound, and the Moving Image

Music, Sound & the Moving Image (academic periodical): Devoted to the study of the interaction between music and sound with the entirety of moving image media: film, television, music video, advertising, computer games, mixed-media installation, digital art, live cinema, etc.  Full text access.

Music Theory Online

Music Theory Online (academic periodical): Features articles, reviews, commentaries, and analytical essays related to the field of professional music theory.  Full text access.

Notes

Notes (academic periodical): Professional or scholarly articles in the areas of music bibliography, music librarianship, the music trade, discography and certain aspects of music history; book and music reviews, lists of books recently published and lists of music received.  Full text access.

Popular Music and Society

Popular Music & Society (academic periodical): Research articles and reviews for a general readership about popular music, culture, and sociology.  Current year abstracts only.  Full text access available from 18 months previous to current issue .

Rolling Stone Magazine

Rolling Stone Magazine (popular periodical): The music lover's magazine!  Rock & Roll, national affairs, feature stories, reviews, classified ads, and the music charts. Find out where your favorite group stands in the ratings.  Full text access.

Sight and Sound

Sight & Sound (popular periodical): A publication of the British Film Institute. Feature articles and interviews on recent motion pictures, notes on festivals, book reviews and film and video reviews.  This periodical is also available in print.  Full text access from 2000-present.  Selective full text access back to 1960.