Library Resources - PH 603 - The Language of Photography - Research Guides at Academy of Art University

Required Reading List

There are no required reading materials for this course.

LUNA Digital Image Collections
Search over 330,000 images, including over 114,000 works of art from the collections of contributing museums, universities and archives. Architectural photographs, gardens and landscapes, political Americana, historical maps, fashion plate collections and much more.

Images from the Saskia Gardner's Art through the Ages art history set.
The AMICA Library, which contains over 95,000 works of art from the collections of contributing museums.
Architectural photographs, gardens and landscapes, political Americana, historical maps, fashion plate collections and much more.
LUNA tutorials provide information on navigating LUNA, creating Media Groups, and more. Tutorials include:
- How-to Guide: Getting Started with LUNA (PDF)
- Introduction to LUNA Media Groups (PDF)
- Introduction to LUNA Presentations (PDF)
The following LUNA Search Guides are available:

In addition to LUNA, the library has a curated list of image resources on our D igital Images page.

Ebook Central
9,000+ full text books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
EBSCO eBooks
EBSCO eBooks offers a small collection of ebook titles that can be accessed online.

Aperture
Magazine covering contemporary world photography, photojournalism, fine art, and history. (Popular)
Communication Arts
Communication Arts is the premier source of inspiration for graphic designers, art directors, design firms, corporate design departments, advertising agencies, interactive designers, illustrators and photographers—everyone involved in visual communications. Whether in print or online, CA's editorials, feature articles and the annual competitions it sponsors provide new ideas and information, while promoting the highest professional standards for the field. (Trade)
Digital Photo Pro
Guide to the DSLRs, digital photo technology, and professional photo technique. (Popular)

Photography Department Library Guide
A Subject Guide for the School of Photography
Visual Literacy Library Guide
A guide to help you locate and cite images & media, and understand copyright & fair use.