Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. The site hosts Wayback Machine, a searchable archive of the internet's past. Other strengths include retro video games and software, audiobooks, historic manuscripts, newspapers, and other special collections. Make a free account to borrow from a huge online selection of popular books.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public libraries and universities that offers viewers a large collection of award-winning films and documentaries. The Academy of Art University subscribes to a subset of available films on the Kanopy platform focused on Art, Design, and Film studies.
Provides access to 4 million images, information on trade shows, fashion trend analysis, and information on interiors and beauty.
Your major's Department Research Guide is a great place to start. Each guide has a selection of books and e-books by topic, as well as the databases that support work in your major. See the list below for all of the guides (for another view, click here).
Keep in mind: Our collections are curated towards art and design topics. To look for credible information beyond these topics, you may want to consult your local public library’s collections and online resources. For example, students living in the Bay Area in California can access the San Francisco Public Library’s resources. You would also need to sign up for a free library card to access these resources. Ask a librarian if you have any questions.
The EBSCO databases are a great place to start. They are linked on our Online Resources page.
You can also get to this page from the Online Articles and Databases link under “Getting Started” on the library homepage.
Keep in mind: The search box at the top of the page searches in the library catalog only, not in any of our online resources. You need to access the database from the AAU Library website to ensure that you are accessing it for free as a current AAU student.
If you are having trouble accessing these resources off-campus, please see the Library Login Issues FAQ.
Do you have a reference question, but can't make it to the library to talk to a librarian? Submit your question using the Ask a Librarian form linked above and one of our librarians will get back to you during business hours, Monday through Friday.
You can also give us a call at 415-618-3842.
If you would like individual research help, you can use this form to schedule an appointment with a librarian for a research consultation over Zoom or over the phone.
(In-person appointments will be available when the library reopens after the resumption of in-person instruction and operations.)
This service is available to currently enrolled Academy of Art University students and faculty only.