It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Access is the free, online availability of scholarly content that is free from most copyright and licensing restrictions. To ensure the widest possible access to scholarly content, scholars can contribute to open access literature in several ways:
Open Access Publishing: Scholarly content made available online and free of charge to anyone upon publication.
Open Archives: Scholarly content in subscription publications made available free of charge after an initial embargo period.
Open Repositories: Digital collections of freely available scholarly content on a particular subject or the collected intellectual works of an institution or group of institutions.
Open Data: Data that is freely available for use, reuse, and redistribution.
Bookboon.com was established in Denmark in 1988, under the name Ventus, and has always focused on publishing educational material for students and business professionals. In 2005, the company made a strategic leap and became the world’s first online book publisher to provide free textbooks for students. Since 2005, bookboon.com has experienced massive growth and is now the world’s largest eBook publisher.
OpenStax CNX is a dynamic non-profit digital ecosystem serving millions of users per month in the delivery of educational content to improve learning outcomes. There are tens of thousands of learning objects, called pages, that are organized into thousands of textbook-style books in a host of disciplines, all easily accessible online and downloadable to almost any device, anywhere, anytime.
The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
The Gutenberg-e prizewinning books represent the most distinguished and innovative scholarship delivered with creative and thoughtful use of digital technology. These books have undergone a rigorous academic review process by distinguished historians brought together by the American Historical Association and produced through a close collaboration between the authors and the electronic publishing staff at Columbia University Press.
Over 2.5 million full-text books online. Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
OAPEN promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication. We work with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open access books and provide services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of hosting, deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
Archnet is an open access, intellectual resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world. Archnet’s mission is to provide ready access to unique visual and textual material to facilitate teaching, scholarship, and professional work of high quality.
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
More than 180,000 of the items in our Digital Collections are in the public domain.
That means everyone has the freedom to enjoy and reuse these materials in almost
limitless ways. The Library now makes it possible to download such items in the highest resolution available directly from the Digital Collections website.