Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Motion Pictures & Television Blogs
The leading news, information, and networking site for independent-minded filmmakers, the industry and moviegoers.
Noam Kroll: Filmmaking Resources and Community
Noam Kroll is an LA based filmmaker who shares his thoughts, experience, and perspective on all things film. Noam Kroll has worked in the film and television industry in many different capacities over the years, but primarily as a director, cinematographer and colorist.
FilmmakerIQ is a group of filmmakers born in this new media wave but never forgetting the past. FilmmakerIQ uses the todays tools to tell stories filmmaking forefathers never dreamed possible.
No Film School blog
No Film School is the leading worldwide community of filmmakers, video producers, and independent creatives. No Film School is where filmmakers learn from each other.
John Brawley Blog
John Brawley has developed a reputation as one of Australia’s most talented and sought after Directors of Photography. This blog focuses on camera testing and filming.
Motion Pictures & Television Related Websites
American Screenwriters Association
Organization dedicated to the promotion of and encouragement of screenwriting as an art form.
Bay Area Women in Film and Media
Bay Area Women in Film & Media is a volunteer-run, non-profit organization that actively provides networking, educational and social opportunities for women film and mediamakers in the San Francisco Bay Area.
Directors Guild of America
The Directors Guild of America (DGA) is an entertainment guild which represents the interests of film and television directors in the United States motion picture industry and abroad.
Independent Film & Television Alliance
IFTA is the trade association for independent motion picture and television production and distribution companies.
International Documentary Association
Promoting nonfiction film and video, supporting documentary filmmakers, and sponsor of an annual documentary film festival.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook issued by the Bureau of Labor Statistics can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
Founded by Robert Redford and dedicated to the development of artists of independent vision and the exhibition of their new work. Sponsor of the Sundance Film Festival.
The Criterion Collection
The Criterion Collection, a continuing series of important classic and contemporary films, has been dedicated to gathering the greatest films from around the world and publishing them in editions that offer the highest technical quality and award-winning, original supplements.
The Daily Script
A collection of movie scripts and screenplays to serve as a resource for writers and actors and those who simply enjoy reading movie scripts.
David Bordwell's Website on Cinema
A website created by Professor Jacques Ledoux that focuses on cinema. This websites consists of a blog, books reviews, videos, essays, and articles.
The site focuses on reviews, commentary, interviews, and news about contemporary and classic films.
Film Maker IQ
Tutorials, videos, and interviews covering all aspects of production, including screenwriting, distribution, and funding sources. Includes a forum and links.
The Film Stage: Your Spotlight on Cinema
A film site dedicated to up-to-date news, reviews, original features, and extensive film festival coverage with a global film-making perspective.
Film Threat’s mission is to champion up and coming indie filmmakers while speaking truth to the entertainment industry…
Reverse Shot is a publication of the Museum of the Moving Image. Reverse Shot features symposiums, reviews, videos, interviews, and archives.
San Francisco Bay Area Television Archive
Established in 1982, the TV Archive preserves 6,000 hours of newsfilm, documentaries and other TV footage produced in the Bay Area and Northern California from the Twentieth Century.
The definitive guide to Britain's Film and TV history.
Senses of Cinema
Senses of Cinema is an online film journals that focuses professional, high quality film-related content.
Non-commercial website featuring a large collection of avant-garde film, video, sound art, and more.
The Academy of Art University's Career Services department creates enduring partnerships with established and emerging companies, artists and designers that support all majors. Career Services works with executives, recruiters, creative leaders and alumni nationwide to cultivate meaningful affiliations that foster connections to a dynamic professional network.
Career Services can be reached via email at: firstname.lastname@example.org or in person at 79 New Montgomery Street, 4th Floor. Students can also visit the Career Services website. You can receive more in-depth information by accessing Career Services through the Student Portal and using the Career Services link under "Resources."
Motion Pictures & Television Podcasts
Weekly film podcast/WBEZ radio show from Chicago featuring in-depth reviews, top 5 lists and interviews.
Indiewire: Screen Talk
Screen Talk, Indiewire's chief film critic Eric Kohn talks with Thompson on Hollywood's Anne Thompson about the indie film world and beyond -- from film festivals to new releases and the future of the business.
KCRW's The Business
The Business is the show about the business of show business. It goes beyond the glitz and glamour to the who, what, why and how of making movies and TV.
Kermode & Mayo's Film Review
Mark Kermode joins Simon Mayo to give his verdict on the week's movies. Originally airs on BBC radio.
Motion Pictures and Television Podcast (Academy of Art University)
Podcasts is hosted by the Academy of Art University's Motion Pictures and Television department.