It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Visual Development: Digital Images
A Subject Guide for the School of Visual Development
The websites listed on this page are for reference and research purposes only.
Usage guidelines vary widely by resource. Some images are open-access and free to use, while others may require a licensing fee. It is every student’s ethical responsibility to evaluate the usage guidelines when choosing to reproduce any image to avoid copyright violation.
Respect the intellectual property of others and use your best judgment when deciding to reproduce an image, and always credit your source!
Image Research Help
Do you need help finding specific images in LUNA or on the Web but can't make it to the library to talk to the Visual Resources Librarian? Submit your question and our Visual Resources Librarian will get back to you, usually within 24 hours, Monday through Friday.
Faculty Digitization Requests
Faculty can submit requests to the Visual Resources Librarian at any time to have new images digitized locally and uploaded to LUNA to support their specific courses. If you would like more information about the faculty digitization request process, please contact the Visual Resources Librarian at firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Artstor Digital Library is a database of 2 million images for use in the humanities. Comprised of nearly 300 collections from museums, archives, scholars, and artists, the Artstor Digital Library makes available high-qualities images for download, along with tools for exporting images into PowerPoint and creating citations.
Search over 330,000 images, including over 114,000 works of art from the collections of contributing museums, universities and archives. Architectural photographs, gardens and landscapes, political Americana, historical maps, fashion plate collections and much more.
Images from the Saskia Gardner's Art through the Ages art history set.
The AMICA Library, which contains over 95,000 works of art from the collections of contributing museums.
Architectural photographs, gardens and landscapes, political Americana, historical maps, fashion plate collections and much more.
LUNA tutorials provide information on navigating LUNA, creating Media Groups, and more. Tutorials include: