Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
May is Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage month, an annual celebration of contributions and achievements by Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders (AAPI) in American history and culture. The Art U Library has curated this page of online library resources related to Asian American and Pacific Islanders' experiences in art, film, and media. We've included e-books, digital magazine articles, and more. If you have any questions or need help finding additional resources, feel free to reach out to Debra Sampson, Library Director, for assistance.
“Fight the Virus. Fight the Bias” public-service campaign tackles prejudice against Asian Americans.
Anxiety regarding the COVID-19 pandemic has led to a surge in xenophobia and prejudice against AAPI. The Ad Council and Alan Yang, best known for his work on “Parks and Recreation,” “Master of None,” and the recently-released movie “Tigertail,” came together to present individual narratives to draw attention to this prejudice and direct people to information resources to push back against this rise in racism. Read the full article on this PSA here.
For more, check out WARC.
WARC is an advertising campaign database filled with case studies written by the creative agencies who made those campaigns, as well as best practice pieces based on current successful advertising trends.
Try searching the Library's digital resources using keywords such as "Asian American," "Pacific Islander," and "AAPI" in relation to your research topics. A few databases to try are listed below.
EBSCO - Search Academic Search Premier, Art Source, & OmniFile This link opens in a new window
Search all of the journals and magazines in Academic Search Premier, Art Source, and OmniFile Full Text Select with only one search!
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
ProQuest Ebook Central e-books
There are many titles related to Asian American and Pacific Islanders in art and media in our e-book collection. These are just a few examples of what is available, with more found using the search terms "Asian American" and "Pacific Islander." You can find a link to Ebook Central on the library's Online Resources page.
Curious about who AAPI young adults are as consumers and how they are impacted by social media influencers?
From the Mintel report Multicultural Young Adults and Influencers: Incl Impact of COVID-19 - US - November 2020:
"Young Asians primarily follow influencers because they reflect an expanded, acculturated point of view with their culture as a foundation and fused with new ideas from people outside of their culture. Young Asians believe that the influencers they follow are authentic and their advice is trustworthy because they share the same goals. These include being accessible and reflective of an integrated society that they believe shapes US culture in terms of entertainment, style and other lifestyle markers, while also being true to themselves..."
Mintel is a database that provides market research and analysis, giving insights into current and future trends in consumer behaviors. For the full report mentioned above, click here. You can click on the "Search this report" tab in the middle of the page and enter "Asian" as a search term to see more data points highlighted in the report.
All Art U Library digital magazine subscriptions can be accessed via the Flipster Magazines link on the Library's Online Resources webpage.
GQ: Gentlemen's Quarterly
Actor Steven Yeun of "The Walking Dead" fame and now the latest film "Minari," is featured as GQ's April 2021 cover story. The article highlights his thoughts on what it means to be Asian American in film while trying to remain authentic to himself.
The April 2021 issue is a special 200th issue that takes a look back at some milestone moments of 15 years of publication, which includes Stanley Lau's iconic DeviantArt creation Pepper (p. 42-43) and Bobby Chiu and LightBox Expo (p. 44-45), alongside recent artist highlights such as Will Murai and his Blizzard key art (p. 78-81).
In the April 21, 2021 issue, the article "Punchline to Contender: The Overdue Rise of Asians in Hollywood" (p. 58-59) presents a brief history of recent Asian American organization in the film industry, from CAPE (Coalition of Asian Pacifics in Entertainment) to The Salon for the South Asian Hollywood community.
"Sculpture" showcases interviews from artists engaging in three-dimensional art. Recent features of Asian American artists include Beili Liu, an artist based in Austin, Texas that brings her identity as a Chinese immigrant and past experiences into her art (Mar/Apr 2021 issue; p. 16-25), and Kiyomi Iwata, a Japanese immigrant who brings a wealth of life experiences in Japan and the US East Coast to create textile art that explores geographic relationships (Jan/Feb 2021 issue; p. 64-73).
Questions? Ask a Librarian
Questions about how to access these library resources and more? Check out our Library FAQ or contact us via the "Ask a Librarian" form (linked in the image above).