February is Black History Month, an annual celebration of achievements by Black Americans. The Academy of Art Library has curated this page of online library resources related to Black artists, art movements, and Black history. We've included e-books, streaming video, digital magazine articles, and more. If you have any questions, or need help finding additional resources, feel free to reach out to Debra Sampson, Library Director, for assistance.
If you are prompted to login to these resources, use your First and Last Name with a space in between, and your student ID number.
There are hundreds of titles related to Black history in our e-book collection. These are just a few examples of what is available. You can find a link to Ebook Central on the library's Online Resources page.
Adventures in Shondaland by 
African American Arts: Activism, Aesthetics, and Futurity by 
Destructive Desires: Rhythm and Blues Culture and the Politics of Racial Equality by 
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance by 
Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema by 
New Thoughts on the Black Arts Movement by 
Revolution Televised: Prime Time and the Struggle for Black Power by 
Shamanism, Racism, and Hip Hop Culture: Essays on White Supremacy and Black Subversion by 
Struggles for Equal Voice by Artstor is celebrating Black History Month by gathering a number of Artstor’s Public Collections about the history and culture of African Americans. The Academy of Art Library has access to Artstor through June 2021. Check it out before it's gone.
Shirley Chisholm. Not dated. Copyright: Tuskegee University Archives, 2016.
Try searching the Library's digital resources using keywords such as "Black history," "African American," "Harlem Renaissance," "Black Arts Movement," or combine search terms such as "animation" and "African American" to find resources related to Black artists and Black history. A few databases to try are listed below.
Search all of the journals and magazines in Academic Search Premier, Art Source, and OmniFile Full Text Select with only one search!
JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
Walker, Kara. "Gone three." Grove Art Online. Oxford University Press. Date of access 19 Feb. 2021.
You can find all of the digital magazines the library subscribes to via the Flipster Magazine link on the Library's Online Resources webpage.
