Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LGBTQ Pride Month: Welcome

A quick introduction to resources at the Academy of Art University Library related to LGBTQ history and experiences in art, media, fashion, and culture.

Welcome

June is LGBTQ Pride Month, celebrating the history and ongoing activism to achieve equality and equal opportunity for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) Americans. The Academy of Art University Library has curated this page of online library resources related to LGBTQ people's experiences and impact in art, media, fashion, and culture. We've included e-books, digital magazine articles, and more. We're also featuring content from AAU student group Outloud!'s Queer Variety show (2019). If you have any questions or need help finding additional resources, feel free to reach out to Emmanuel Edward Te, the Reference and Information Literacy Librarian, for assistance. 

Digital Magazines

You can find all of the digital magazines the library subscribes to via the Flipster Magazines and Exact Editions Magazines links on the Online Resources page. 

For assistance on navigating our e-magazine collections, see the Library FAQ here.

Online Databases

Try searching the Library's digital resources using keywords such as "LGBT" and "LGBTQ" in relation to your research topics. A few databases to try are listed below.

ProQuest Ebook Central e-books

There are many titles related to LGBTQ people and their experiences in art and media in our e-book collection. These are just a few examples of what is available. You can find a link to Ebook Central on the library's Online Resources page.

WARC

"Advertising with Pride." 

WARC’s Chiara Manco looks at brands that have successfully tapped into Pride month to show support to the LGBTQ+ community, such as Skittles "giving up" its rainbow colors in its packaging for the 2016 London Pride to Mastercard in the US introducing its "True Name" card for its transgender and non-binary customers. Read the article here.

"AT&T x The Trevor Project."

Building on its previous partnership since 2018, AT&T and The Trevor Project, the world's largest suicide prevention and crisis intervention organization for LGBTQ+ young people, came together to generate awareness for 24/7 TrevorChat and TrevorText services among LGBTQ+ youth. The initiative drove increases of 500% in chat and text volume, 200% in call volume and 21 times higher earned reach across social channels compared to the previous year. And most importantly, it may have even saved a few lives because of its reach and impact. Read the full article here.

For more, check out WARC

WARC is an advertising campaign database filled with case studies written by the creative agencies who made those campaigns, as well as best practice pieces based on current successful advertising trends.

Berg Fashion Library

Berg Fashion Library contains the 10-volume Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, 7,000+ fashion-related images from museums and special collections, and numerous e-books on fashion. Here are some titles and links to excerpts that look at the social and cultural intersections of LGBT identity and fashion. 

To see the full list of Berg Fashion Library ebooks, click here

Outloud!

Outloud! is AAU's social advocacy club for the queer community. 

Click here to read more about your fellow students in this AAU club and to see more images from the 2019 Queer Variety show.

Queer Variety Show 2019 Pictures (Pt.1)