November is Native American Heritage month, an annual celebration to honor the culture and heritage of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Native Hawaiians. The Art U Library has curated this page of online library resources related to Native Americans' experiences in art, film, and media. We've included e-books and online magazine articles. If you have any questions or need help finding additional resources, feel free to reach out to Library Director, Debra Sampson.
Curatopia by 
Indigenous Pop by 
Lelooska by 
Proud Raven, Panting Wolf by 
Reservation Reelism by According to The United American Indians of New England "Since 1970, Indigenous people & their allies have gathered at noon on Cole's Hill in Plymouth to commemorate a National Day of Mourning on the US Thanksgiving holiday." (uaine.org) To find out more, and to watch a livestream of the 2021 National Day of Mourning event go to uaine.org.
Here are a few articles related to The National Day of Mourning found in EBSCO, one of the library's multi-discipline full text magazine and journal article databases. To view these articles, log in using your name and student ID number.
Try searching the Library's digital resources using keywords such as "Native North American," "Indigenous," "Native people," or combine search terms such as "art or craft" and "Native American" to find resources related to Native American artists. Linked below are a few databases to try, as well as a few recent articles of interest. To view them, log in with your name and Art U ID number.
Search all of the journals and magazines in Academic Search Premier, Art Source, and OmniFile Full Text Select with only one search!
An online encyclopedia of world art and art history, spanning from prehistoric to modern art. Contains artist biographies, information about art movements, timelines of world art, definitions of art terms, and links to image collections.
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
Questions about how to access these library resources and more? Check out our Library FAQ or contact us via the "Ask a Librarian" form (linked in the image above).