Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Every year March is designated Women’s History Month by Presidential proclamation. The month is set aside to honor women’s contributions in American history. The Academy of Art Library has curated this page of online library resources related to women's history and women artists. We've included photograph collections, e-books, streaming video, digital magazine articles, and more. If you have any questions, or need help finding additional resources, feel free to reach out to Debra Sampson, Library Director, for assistance.
If you are prompted to login to these resources, use your First and Last Name with a space in between, and your student ID number.
ProQuest Ebook Central e-books
There are many titles related to women's history in our e-book collection. These are just a few examples of what is available. You can find a link to Ebook Central on the library's Online Resources page.
WARC This link opens in a new window
WARC is a database that contains case studies, company reports, trend reports, consumer insights, and more!. It has great information on advertising, merchandising, marketing, and market analysis. Contains data and reports from more than 30 leading content sources worldwide.
Read the case study below about an award winning campaign from Marie Claire and Jet Blue. The campaign consisted of an all-female 'Power Trip' networking event that included a flight and a four-panel summit among female leaders in tech, media, fashion, entertainment, policy and aviation and was held during Women's History Month in 2016.
Artstor is celebrating Women's History Month by identifying some of the resources, both licensed and public, that Artstor provides on the inspiring topic of women. The Academy of Art Library has access to Artstor through June 2021. Check it out before it's gone.
Unknown. Delegates to 1937 convention in Atlantic City, left to right: Margaret DiMaggio, Rose Pesotta, Sadie Reisch, Jennie Matyas, [unknown], Aida Rose, identified as the "Big 6". 1937. Artstor, library.artstor.org/asset/SS34445_34445_4464720
Online Full Text Article Databases
Try searching the Library's digital resources using keywords such as "Women's history," "female artists," and "feminism in art" to find resources related to female artists and women's history. A few databases to try are listed below.
EBSCO - Search Academic Search Premier, Art Source, & OmniFile This link opens in a new window
Search all of the journals and magazines in Academic Search Premier, Art Source, and OmniFile Full Text Select with only one search!
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
Streaming Video through Kanopy
Like drawing back a curtain to let bright light stream in, MISS REPRESENTATION uncovers a glaring reality we live with every day but fail to see. Written and directed by Jennifer Siebel Newsom, the film exposes how mainstream media contributes to the under-representation of women in positions of power and influence in America. The film challenges the media's limited and often disparaging portrayals of women and girls, which make it difficult for women to achieve leadership positions and for the average woman to feel powerful herself.
You can find all of the digital magazines the library subscribes to via the Flipster Magazine link on the Library's Online Resources webpage.
From Each Solution, a New Challenge
This article is found in the Entrepreneur March 2021 issue. Every time Dawn Dickson created a product she believed in, it pointed her to an even bigger problem to solve. Now she's got a company poised for growth.
This is a feature story about the Nigerian Italian Artist Diana Ejaita. It is from the March/April 2021 issue of Communication Arts.
The G.O.A.T: Frances van Hasselt's Love of Mohair - The Diamond Fibre from South Africa
This article is in the March/April 2021 issue of Selvedge Magazine. It is a short article on Frances van Hasselt's rug company and her love of mohair, i.e. goats! Then continue scrolling for more articles about female textile artists.