Research Guides: Writing for Film, Television, & Digital Media: Articles and Databases

Accessing AAU Databases

Unless otherwise noted, you can access all of the subscription websites and databases without logging in when in the library or other AAU buildings. To access these resources from off-campus, when prompted, enter your name and the 8-digit student or faculty ID number located on the front of your AAU ID card. Some resources require a separate username and password; please read the description of each resource for more information. If you have trouble accessing any of the websites or databases, contact library@academyart.edu.

Recommended Databases for Writing for Film, Television, & Digital Media

EBSCO - Search Academic Search Premier, Art Source, & OmniFile This link opens in a new window
Search all of the journals and magazines in Academic Search Premier, Art Source, and OmniFile Full Text Select with only one search!
EBSCO Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,600 journals and magazines, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
EBSCO Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Access to over 630 full-text journals and more than 220 full-text books on art topics including advertising, architecture, art history, computers in art, fashion design, folk art, graphic design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, photography, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.

Additional Databases for Writing for Film, Television, & Digital Media

EBSCO OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Contains only full text articles from over 1600 magazines, journals and newspapers covering art, technology, agriculture, education, science, humanities, law, business, and more.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
9,000+ full text e-books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, Barnes Reports, and Snapshots! Information on international and domestic companies including personnel, budgets, products, operations, and competitors. Contains proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives.

Citing Online Articles and Databases in MLA Style

Format:

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Journal or Magazine, vol., issue, Publication Date, pages. Title of Database, DOI or URL. Date of access (optional).

URLs are now a required component of a citation. Providing the date of access is optional.

Example - Article from Academic Search Premier:

McCarthy, Erin. “10 Scenes That Changed Movie History.” Popular Mechanics, vol. 184, no. 1, Jan. 2007, pp. 64-65. Academic Search Premier, 0-search.ebscohost.com.library.academyart.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=24623655&site=ehost-live. Accessed 23 Feb. 2016.