13,000+ full text e-books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
Search all of the journals and magazines in Academic Search Premier, Art Source, and OmniFile Full Text Select with only one search!
JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
Includes Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, Barnes Reports, and Snapshots! Information on international and domestic companies including personnel, budgets, products, operations, and competitors. Contains proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public libraries and universities that offers viewers a large collection of award-winning films and documentaries. The Academy of Art University subscribes to a subset of available films on the Kanopy platform focused on Art, Design, and Film studies.
Search over 330,000 images, including over 114,000 works of art from the collections of contributing museums, universities and archives. Architectural photographs, gardens and landscapes, political Americana, historical maps, fashion plate collections and much more.
13,000+ full text e-books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
EBSCO eBooks offers a small collection of e-book titles that are required or recommended in Academy of Art University courses.
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free electronic books, or eBooks. Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize, archive, and distribute literary works. The mission of Project Gutenberg is: To encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks
Open Library is a non-profit, open source, digital public library, hosted by the Internet Archive, which lends millions of ebooks to millions of patrons each year.
Adventures in the screen trade [e-book] : a personal view of Hollywood and screenwriting by 
Aristotle's Poetics by 
Rocliffe notes [e-book] : a professional approach for screenwriters & writer-directors by 
Digital storytelling [e-book] : the narrative power of visual effects in film by 
A companion to media authorship [e-book] by Use the Course Reserves page on the Library website to search for required textbooks.
Access magazines online from the Exact Editions Fashion and Culture Collection and the Architecture Collection.
Access Art and Design magazines online from a computer or download them to a smartphone or tablet using the Flipster mobile app for offline reading.
Film Criticism in the Digital Age by 
Roll over Adorno by 
Television in the Age of Radio by 
Hollywood Drive by 
The Screenwriter's Sourcebook by Step 1. Types of Information
Books & E-Books | Videos & Images | Articles | Internet Resources | Periodical Publications | Government and Corporate | One Perfect Source?
Step 2. Search Strategies
Know your information need | Develop a topic | Refine a topic | Identify Keywords | Search Strings
Step 3. Resource Evaluation
The CRAAP Method | Primary vs Secondary Sources
Step 4: Ethical Use of Information
Incorporate Source Material | Plagiarism | Copyright, Fair Use, and Appropriation | Writing Strategies
Step 5: Citation
MLA Format | MLA Examples | APA Format | APA Examples | Chicago Format | Chicago Examples | Annotated Bibliographies
Do you have a reference question and want to talk to a librarian? Submit your question here and one of our librarians will get back to you within 24 hours, Monday through Friday.
If you would like individual research help, you can also use the Ask a Librarian link above to schedule an appointment with a librarian for a research consultation. You can meet with a librarian online or on the phone.
This service is available to currently enrolled Academy of Art University students and faculty only.
