13,000+ full text e-books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
Search all of the journals and magazines in Academic Search Premier, Art Source, and OmniFile Full Text Select with only one search!
Includes Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, Barnes Reports, and Snapshots! Information on international and domestic companies including personnel, budgets, products, operations, and competitors. Contains proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives.
Market research and analysis covering the U.S. and some international marketplaces. Gives insight into the trends and consumer behaviors that will shape tomorrow's markets.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public libraries and universities that offers viewers a large collection of award-winning films and documentaries. The Academy of Art University subscribes to a subset of available films on the Kanopy platform focused on Art, Design, and Film studies.
Search over 330,000 images, including over 114,000 works of art from the collections of contributing museums, universities and archives. Architectural photographs, gardens and landscapes, political Americana, historical maps, fashion plate collections and much more.
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. The site hosts Wayback Machine, a searchable archive of the internet's past. Other strengths include retro video games and software, audiobooks, historic manuscripts, newspapers, and other special collections. Make a free account to borrow from a huge online selection of popular books.
13,000+ full text e-books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
EBSCO eBooks offers a small collection of e-book titles that are required or recommended in Academy of Art University courses.
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free electronic books, or eBooks. Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize, archive, and distribute literary works. The mission of Project Gutenberg is: To encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks
Open Library is a non-profit, open source, digital public library, hosted by the Internet Archive, which lends millions of ebooks to millions of patrons each year.
Advertising for People Who Don't Like Advertising by Use the Course Reserves page on the Library website to search for required textbooks.
Access magazines online from the Exact Editions Fashion and Culture Collection and the Architecture Collection.
Access Art and Design magazines online from a computer or download them to a smartphone or tablet using the Flipster mobile app for offline reading.
Step 1. Types of Information
Books & E-Books | Videos & Images | Articles | Internet Resources | Periodical Publications | Government and Corporate | One Perfect Source?
Step 2. Search Strategies
Know your information need | Develop a topic | Refine a topic | Identify Keywords | Search Strings
Step 3. Resource Evaluation
The CRAAP Method | Primary vs Secondary Sources
Step 4: Ethical Use of Information
Incorporate Source Material | Plagiarism | Copyright, Fair Use, and Appropriation | Writing Strategies
Step 5: Citation
MLA Format | MLA Examples | APA Format | APA Examples | Chicago Format | Chicago Examples | Annotated Bibliographies
Do you have a reference question and want to talk to a librarian? Submit your question here and one of our librarians will get back to you within 24 hours, Monday through Friday.
If you would like individual research help, you can also use the Ask a Librarian link above to schedule an appointment with a librarian for a research consultation. You can meet with a librarian online or on the phone.
This service is available to currently enrolled Academy of Art University students and faculty only.
A classic text now in a new edition, George Felton's Advertising: Concept and Copy is an innovative approach to advertising creativity. It covers the entire conceptual process, from developing smart strategy to executing it with strong ads-from what to say to how to say it. Part 1, Strategies, operates on the premise that the idea beneath an ad's surface determines its success. This first section shows how to research products, understand consumer behavior, analyze audiences, and navigate marketplace realities, then how to write creative briefs that focus this strategic analysis into specific advertising objectives.
Entertaining and inspirational, Creative Advertising is a 'must have' for all designers, art directors, copywriters, and students of advertising - in fact, for anyone who makes a living from good ideas and for whom creativity is the key qualification. Unravels the creative processes behind some of the most original and effective campaigns of recent years, showcasing over two hundred examples of international advertising from media including magazines and billboards, television, cinema and the Internet.
"Packed with invaluable advice and insights from the author and other industry insiders, the book explains everything you need to know about working as an advertising creative but don't get taught at college"--Publisher summary.
From Grant Hunter and Jon Burkhart, the duo behind the Urgent Genius website, Newsjacking features over 100 examples of outstanding creative advertising from around the world that use topicality and viral techniques to communicate with audiences at high speed. Based on the themes and concepts the authors have devised through their groundbreaking research, Newsjacking combines principles and creative strategies with inspiring yet rapidly executed work to show how for advertising to be effective it has to move fast.
This is a book about why advertising irritates, bores, or outrages us, and why it doesn't have to be this way
