13,000+ full text e-books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
Search all of the journals and magazines in Academic Search Premier, Art Source, and OmniFile Full Text Select with only one search!
JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
Over 100 new and classic books on fashion. Full access to the 10-volume Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public libraries and universities that offers viewers a large collection of award-winning films and documentaries. The Academy of Art University subscribes to a subset of available films on the Kanopy platform focused on Art, Design, and Film studies.
Search over 330,000 images, including over 114,000 works of art from the collections of contributing museums, universities and archives. Architectural photographs, gardens and landscapes, political Americana, historical maps, fashion plate collections and much more.
13,000+ full text e-books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
EBSCO eBooks offers a small collection of e-book titles that are required or recommended in Academy of Art University courses.
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free electronic books, or eBooks. Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize, archive, and distribute literary works. The mission of Project Gutenberg is: To encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks
Open Library is a non-profit, open source, digital public library, hosted by the Internet Archive, which lends millions of ebooks to millions of patrons each year.
Interpretive Planning for Museums by 
Museum Educator's Handbook by 
The Art Teacher's Survival Guide for Secondary Schools by 
After Art by 
Cognition in Emotion by 
Revitalizing Arts Education Through Community-Wide Coordination by 
The Art of Critical Making by 
How Learning Works by 
Learner-Centered Teaching by Use the Course Reserves page on the Library website to search for required textbooks.
Access magazines online from the Exact Editions Fashion and Culture Collection and the Architecture Collection.
Access Art and Design magazines online from a computer or download them to a smartphone or tablet using the Flipster mobile app for offline reading.
Research in Art and Design Education by 
The Teacher Monologues: exploring the identities and experiences of artist-teachers by 
Handbook of Research and Policy in Art Education by 
Museums and Higher Education Working Together by Research in Art and Design Education by Step 1. Types of Information
Books & E-Books | Videos & Images | Articles | Internet Resources | Periodical Publications | Government and Corporate | One Perfect Source?
Step 2. Search Strategies
Know your information need | Develop a topic | Refine a topic | Identify Keywords | Search Strings
Step 3. Resource Evaluation
The CRAAP Method | Primary vs Secondary Sources
Step 4: Ethical Use of Information
Incorporate Source Material | Plagiarism | Copyright, Fair Use, and Appropriation | Writing Strategies
Step 5: Citation
MLA Format | MLA Examples | APA Format | APA Examples | Chicago Format | Chicago Examples | Annotated Bibliographies
Do you have a reference question and want to talk to a librarian? Submit your question here and one of our librarians will get back to you within 24 hours, Monday through Friday.
If you would like individual research help, you can also use the Ask a Librarian link above to schedule an appointment with a librarian for a research consultation. You can meet with a librarian online or on the phone.
This service is available to currently enrolled Academy of Art University students and faculty only.
The authors share exemplary arts-integrating practices across the K-8 curriculum and describe how the arts offer an entry point for gaining insight into why and how students learn.
Capitalizing on observations and conversations with educators who have used the Studio Thinking Framework in diverse settings, this expanded edition features new material, including: The addition of Exhibitions as a fourth Studio Structure for Learning (along with Demonstration-Lecture, Students-at-Work, and Critique).
How can lasting change be made in the way art is taught in America's schools? The Quiet Evolution documents the remarkable progress that these groups made in training thousands of teachers in hundreds of school districts to design and then implement a substantive approach to art education in their schools. In addition, this important volume provides a history of the evaluation of art education theory.
"In this in-depth text, the preeminent art education scholar Arthur Efland not only sheds light on the problems inhibiting art education but also demonstrates how art contributes to the overall development of the mind"--Teachers College Press
This inspiring book leads the way to a new kind of advocacy--one that stops justifying the arts as useful to learning other subjects and argues instead for the powerful lessons that the arts, like no other subjects, teach our children. Jessica Hoffmann Davis, a leading voice in the field of arts education, offers a set of principles and tools that will be invaluable to advocates already working hard to make the case and secure a strong place for the arts in education.
