Research Guides: Art History: Library Resources

Databases

A-Z Database List
Database Best Bets

A-Z Database page
Academy of Art Library databases provide you with 24-7 access to magazine articles, e-books, company and business information and more.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
13,000+ full text e-books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
EBSCO - Search Academic Search Premier, Art Source, & OmniFile This link opens in a new window
Search all of the journals and magazines in Academic Search Premier, Art Source, and OmniFile Full Text Select with only one search!
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
Smithsonian Institution Research Information System This link opens in a new window
Online catalog of the collections of the Smithsonian museums, archives, and libraries. Search over 17.7 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 7.8 million online images, audio & videos and blog posts.
Smithsonian Open Access This link opens in a new window
Includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

Multimedia

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public libraries and universities that offers viewers a large collection of award-winning films and documentaries. The Academy of Art University subscribes to a subset of available films on the Kanopy platform focused on Art, Design, and Film studies.
LUNA Digital Image Collections This link opens in a new window
Search over 330,000 images, including over 114,000 works of art from the collections of contributing museums, universities and archives. Architectural photographs, gardens and landscapes, political Americana, historical maps, fashion plate collections and much more.

TED Talks on Art
Artists, designers and curators share their work, their process and their vision.

KCRW Art Talk
Two art critics share their views on what they sees in various galleries and museums around the world.
MoMA Talks: Conversations
Curators, scholars, and artists discuss modern and contemporary art.
National Gallery of Art, Washington
These podcasts give access to special National Gallery of Art talks by well-known artists, authors, curators, and historians.
more...less...
Visit us on the National Mall or at www.nga.gov, where you can explore many of the works of art mentioned.
University of Oxford History of Art
The core academic staff of the History of Art Department work on subjects from medieval European architecture to modern Chinese art.

ArtsJournal
ArtsJournal was founded September 13, 1999 in the heady days of the dotcom boom. The site is a digest of some of the best arts and cultural journalism in the English-speaking world.
more...less...
Each day ArtsJournal features link to stories culled from around the internet, including blogs and more than 200 English-language newspapers, magazines and publications featuring writing about arts and culture. Stories from sites that charge for access have generally been excluded.

The current AJ site is the fifth design. In 2003 we added blogs and the site now features more than 60 prominent writers on culture. We expect to keep adding to the number with individuals, group and limited-time group debate blogs.

Arts Journal’s editor is Douglas McLennan, formerly an arts columnist and arts reporter with the Seattle Post-Intelligencer and the Seattle Weekly. Doug writes the diacritical blog on ArtsJournal, tweets as @AJDoug and for a number of publications. He also teaches at the Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism at USC and is a much-in-demand speaker on issues of arts, culture, journalism and how the digital revolution is changing culture.

AJ’s assistant editors are Matthew Westphal and Suzi Steffen.

E-books

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
13,000+ full text e-books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks offers a small collection of e-book titles that are required or recommended in Academy of Art University courses.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free electronic books, or eBooks. Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize, archive, and distribute literary works. The mission of Project Gutenberg is: To encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks
Open Library This link opens in a new window
Open Library is a non-profit, open source, digital public library, hosted by the Internet Archive, which lends millions of ebooks to millions of patrons each year.

Art Is Not What You Think It Is by Donald Preziosi; Claire Farago
Publication Date: 2012
The Art of Art History by Donald Preziosi
Publication Date: 2009
On Art and Artists by T. G. Rosenthal
Publication Date: 2013
Cognition in Emotion by Tone Roald
Publication Date: 2007
Compelling Visuality by Claire J. Farago
Publication Date: 2003
The Objective Eye by John Hyman
Publication Date: 2006
Romanticism (e-book) by Léon Rosenthal
Publication Date: 2012
Post-Impressionism (e-book) by Nathalia Brodskaya
Publication Date: 2012
Art Nouveau (e-book) by Jean Lahor
Publication Date: 2012

Use the Course Reserves page on the Library website to search for required textbooks.

Magazines

Online Magazines

Exact Editions This link opens in a new window
Access magazines online from the Exact Editions Fashion and Culture Collection and the Architecture Collection.
Flipster This link opens in a new window
Access Art and Design magazines online from a computer or download them to a smartphone or tablet using the Flipster mobile app for offline reading.

African Arts
African Arts presents original research and critical discourse on traditional, contemporary, and popular African arts and expressive cultures. Since 1967, the journal has reflected the dynamism and diversity of several fields of humanistic study, publishing richly illustrated articles in full color, incorporating the most current theory, practice, and intercultural dialogue. (Academic)
American Art Review
American Art Review chronicles the emergence and growth of American painting, drawing, printmaking, sculpture and decorative arts . . . with intelligence, sensitivity, style, authority and historical insight. (Academic)
Apollo
Founded in 1925 and published monthly, Apollo is one of the world’s oldest and most respected magazines on the visual arts. It covers everything from antiquities to contemporary work, as well as providing in-depth discussion of the latest art news and debates; exclusive interviews with the world’s greatest collectors and artists; expert information on the market, authoritative guidance on collecting, and reviews and previews of exhibitions worldwide. (Popular)
Artforum
Artforum Magazine features in-depth articles and reviews of contemporary art, as well as book reviews, columns on cinema and popular culture, and numerous full-page advertisements from prominent galleries around the world. (Popular)
Art in America
Each month Art in America, the world's premiere art magazine, provides in-depth coverage of the global, and often controversial, art scene. Every issue contains articles on both respected and rising talents, and reviews of current exhibitions around the world. (Popular)
Arts of Asia
Arts of Asia, founded in 1970, is the world's leading fine magazine of Asian art. Published six times a year, it has the largest circulation of any Asian art magazine and is distributed to 90 countries. It has the support of numerous museums, cultural organisations, universities and schools throughout the world, as well as the major dealers and collectors, and students of art. (Academic)
Bomb
BOMB Magazine has been publishing conversations between artists of all disciplines since 1981. BOMB's founders—New York City based artists and writers—created BOMB because they saw a disparity between the way artists talked about their work among themselves and the way critics described it. (Popular)

Websites

Websites

Art Images for College Teaching
A personal, non-profit project of its author, art historian and visual resources curator Allan T. Kohl. Images have been photographed on location by the author, who consents to their use in any application that is both educational and non-commercial in nature.

Artsy This link opens in a new window
Database comprised of a growing collection of over 50,000 artworks and 11,000 artists from hundreds of galleries, museums and foundations. More than 25,000 images are currently in the public domain, and available for download for teaching and research purposes
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a preservation repository with millions of volumes digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, and HathiTrust’s partner institutions. Approximately one-third of the volumes are in the public domain and can be viewed in their entirety.

Metropolitan Museum of Art: Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
pairs essays and works of art with chronologies,telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.
Smarthistory
Smarthistory is a leading resource for the study of art and cultural heritage. Includes videos and essays covering art from the paleolithic to the present.

Research

Artist Scholar: Reflections on Writing and Research by G. James Daichendt
Publication Date: 2011
The Craft of Research by Wayne C. Booth; Gregory G. Colomb; Joseph M. Williams
Publication Date: 2008

Art Inc. by Lisa Congdon
Call Number: N8350. C58 2014eb
Publication Date: 2014
Physical Techniques in the Study of Art, Archaeology and Cultural Heritage by David Bradley
Call Number: N5303 .P49 2006eb
Publication Date: 2006

Step 2. Search Strategies
Know your information need | Develop a topic | Refine a topic | Identify Keywords | Search Strings

Step 3. Resource Evaluation
The CRAAP Method | Primary vs Secondary Sources

Step 4: Ethical Use of Information
Incorporate Source Material | Plagiarism | Copyright, Fair Use, and Appropriation | Writing Strategies

Welcome to the AAU Library!

Ask Us!

Ask a Librarian

Do you have a reference question and want to talk to a librarian? Submit your question here and one of our librarians will get back to you within 24 hours, Monday through Friday.

If you would like individual research help, you can also use the Ask a Librarian link above to schedule an appointment with a librarian for a research consultation. You can meet with a librarian online or on the phone.

This service is available to currently enrolled Academy of Art University students and faculty only.

Art History: Library Resources