Research Guides: Communications & Media Technologies: Library Resources

Databases

A-Z Database List
Database Best Bets

A-Z Database page
Academy of Art Library databases provide you with 24-7 access to magazine articles, e-books, company and business information and more.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
13,000+ full text e-books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
EBSCO - Search Academic Search Premier, Art Source, & OmniFile This link opens in a new window
Search all of the journals and magazines in Academic Search Premier, Art Source, and OmniFile Full Text Select with only one search!

Multimedia

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public libraries and universities that offers viewers a large collection of award-winning films and documentaries. The Academy of Art University subscribes to a subset of available films on the Kanopy platform focused on Art, Design, and Film studies.
LUNA Digital Image Collections This link opens in a new window
Search over 330,000 images, including over 114,000 works of art from the collections of contributing museums, universities and archives. Architectural photographs, gardens and landscapes, political Americana, historical maps, fashion plate collections and much more.
Artsy This link opens in a new window
Database comprised of a growing collection of over 50,000 artworks and 11,000 artists from hundreds of galleries, museums and foundations. More than 25,000 images are currently in the public domain, and available for download for teaching and research purposes

99% Invisible
99% Invisible is about all the thought that goes into the things we don’t think about — the unnoticed architecture and design that shape our world. With 80 million downloads, 99% Invisible is one of the most popular podcasts on iTunes.
The Moth
The Moth's mission is to promote the art and craft of storytelling and to honor and celebrate the diversity and commonality of human experience.
On the Media
WNYC’s weekly investigation into how the media shapes our world view.
Planet Money
National Public Radio's investigative podcast about economics.
StoryCorps
StoryCorps’ mission is to preserve and share humanity’s stories in order to build connections between people and create a more just and compassionate world.

PressThink
The PressThink blog has been run since 2003 by Jay Rosen, a professor of journalism at New York University and director of the school’s Studio 20 program. Rosen’s blog gives media professionals a chance to step outside of the frenetic day to day of working within media and contemplate the nature of the beast. Long, well-argued and well-thought-out posts let readers contemplate the business and practice of journalism—where it’s headed and whether that is the direction it should be taking. Added bonus: the comments section is full of readers rather than trolls, and is a robust debate in and of itself.
BuzzMachine
Jeff Jarvis, an author, media advisor, and journalism professor at the City Unviversity of New York, writes about media and the news.

E-books

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
13,000+ full text e-books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks offers a small collection of e-book titles that are required or recommended in Academy of Art University courses.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free electronic books, or eBooks. Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize, archive, and distribute literary works. The mission of Project Gutenberg is: To encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks
Open Library This link opens in a new window
Open Library is a non-profit, open source, digital public library, hosted by the Internet Archive, which lends millions of ebooks to millions of patrons each year.

Creating Mobile Apps with JQuery Mobile - Second Edition (ebook) by Andy Matthews; Shane Gliser
Publication Date: 2015
Alternative and Activist Media (ebook) by Mitzi Waltz
Publication Date: 2005
Amateur Images and Global News (ebook) by Kari Andén-Papadopoulos; Mervi Pantti
Publication Date: 2012
Radio Content in the Digital Age (ebook) by Angeliki Gazi (Editor); Guy Starkey (Editor); Stanislaw Jedrzejewski (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013
Podcast Solutions (ebook) by Michael W. Geoghegan; Dan Klass
Publication Date: 2007

Use the Course Reserves page on the Library website to search for required textbooks.

Magazines

Online Magazines

Exact Editions This link opens in a new window
Access magazines online from the Exact Editions Fashion and Culture Collection and the Architecture Collection.
Flipster This link opens in a new window
Access Art and Design magazines online from a computer or download them to a smartphone or tablet using the Flipster mobile app for offline reading.

Adweek
Adweek is a magazine and website that covers media news, including print, technology, advertising, branding and television. (Trade)
Afterimage
Afterimage features unique, high-quality coverage of the visual arts, photography, independent film and video, new media, and alternative publishing, covering important issues and debates within art history, visual and cultural studies, media studies, and related fields. (Academic)
The Atlantic
Since 1857, The Atlantic has shaped the national debate on politics, business, foreign affairs, cultural trends, technology, national and international life. (Popular)
The New Yorker
Established in 1925, the New Yorker is weekly magazine with a signature mix of reporting on national and international politics and culture, humor and cartoons, fiction and poetry, and cultural reviews and criticism. (Popular)
Time
Breaking news and current events from around the globe. (Popular)
Wired
Wired illuminates how technology is changing every aspect of our lives—from culture to business, science to design. The breakthroughs and innovations that we uncover lead to new ways of thinking, new connections, and new industries. (Popular)

Center for Investigative Reporting
The mission of The Center for Investigative Reporting is to engage and empower the public through investigative journalism and groundbreaking storytelling in order to spark action, improve lives and protect our democracy.
Center for Media and Public Affairs
CMPA is a nonpartisan research and educational organization which conducts scientific studies of the news and entertainment media.
International Association for Media and Communication Research
IAMCR aims to support and develop media and communication research throughout the world.
Museum of Broadcast Communications
The mission of The Museum of Broadcast Communications (MBC) is to collect, preserve, and present historic and contemporary radio and television content as well as educate, inform, and entertain the public through its archives, public programs, screenings, exhibits, publications, and online access to its resources.
Poynter Institute
The Poynter Institute is a global leader in journalism. It is the world’s leading instructor, innovator, convener and resource for anyone who aspires to engage and inform citizens in 21st Century democracies.
Pro Publica
ProPublica is an independent, non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest.
Reporters without Borders
Reporters Without Borders (RSF) provides information about the media freedom situation worldwide in French, English, Spanish, Arabic, Chinese, Russian and other languages.

American Communication Association

The ACA is a not-for-profit virtual professional association with actual presence in the world of communication scholars and practitioners. ACA is committed to enabling the effective use of new and evolving technologies to facilitate communication instruction, research and criticism, and to offering a technologically supportive venue for all who study the ways in which humans communicate.

Asian American Journalists Association

AAJA offers a variety of educational, skills training and professional development programs for its student and professional members, as well as guidance on coverage of AAPI issues for the journalism industry and resources on working with the media for AAPI communities.

Association of Women for Communications

AWC is a professional organization that champions the advancement of women across all communications disciplines by recognizing excellence, promoting leadership and positioning its members at the forefront of the evolving communications era.

Bay Area Women in Film & Media

Bay Area Women in Film & Media (BAWIFM) is a volunteer-run, non-profit organization that actively provides networking, educational and social opportunities for over 1,000 women film and mediamakers in the San Francisco Bay Area.

National Association of Black Journalists

The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) is an organization of journalists, students and media-related professionals that provides quality programs and services to and advocates on behalf of black journalists worldwide.

National Association of Broadcasters

The National Association of Broadcasters is the voice for the nation's radio and television broadcasters. As the premier trade association for broadcasters, NAB advances the interests of our members in federal government, industry and public affairs; improves the quality and profitability of broadcasting; encourages content and technology innovation; and spotlights the important and unique ways stations serve their communities.

National Association of Hispanic Journalists

The National Association of Hispanic Journalists (NAHJ) is dedicated to the recognition and professional advancement of Hispanics in the news industry. Established in April 1984, NAHJ created a national voice and unified vision for all Hispanic journalists.

National Communication Association

The National Communication Association advances Communication as the discipline that studies all forms, modes, media, and consequences of communication through humanistic, social scientific, and aesthetic inquiry.

National Federation of Press Women

National Federation of Press Women is a dynamic nationwide organization of professional women — and men — pursuing careers across the communications spectrum.

National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association

Founded in 1990, NLGJA is an organization of journalists, media professionals, educators and students working from within the news industry to foster fair and accurate coverage of LGBT issues. NLGJA opposes all forms of workplace bias and provides professional development to its members.

Society for Technical Communication

STC is the world's largest and oldest professional association dedicated to the advancement of the field of technical communication. The Society’s members span the field of the technical communication profession and reach across every industry and continent.

Search the Library Catalog

Research

Media, Education and America's Counter-Culture Revolution by Robert L. Hilliard
ISBN: 9780313095931
Publication Date: 2000-01-01

Step 2. Search Strategies
Know your information need | Develop a topic | Refine a topic | Identify Keywords | Search Strings

Step 3. Resource Evaluation
The CRAAP Method | Primary vs Secondary Sources

Step 4: Ethical Use of Information
Incorporate Source Material | Plagiarism | Copyright, Fair Use, and Appropriation | Writing Strategies

Welcome to the AAU Library!

Ask Us!

Ask a Librarian

Do you have a reference question and want to talk to a librarian? Submit your question here and one of our librarians will get back to you within 24 hours, Monday through Friday.

If you would like individual research help, you can also use the Ask a Librarian link above to schedule an appointment with a librarian for a research consultation. You can meet with a librarian online or on the phone.

This service is available to currently enrolled Academy of Art University students and faculty only.

Communications & Media Technologies: Library Resources