13,000+ full text e-books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
Search all of the journals and magazines in Academic Search Premier, Art Source, and OmniFile Full Text Select with only one search!
Includes Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, Barnes Reports, and Snapshots! Information on international and domestic companies including personnel, budgets, products, operations, and competitors. Contains proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public libraries and universities that offers viewers a large collection of award-winning films and documentaries. The Academy of Art University subscribes to a subset of available films on the Kanopy platform focused on Art, Design, and Film studies.
Search over 330,000 images, including over 114,000 works of art from the collections of contributing museums, universities and archives. Architectural photographs, gardens and landscapes, political Americana, historical maps, fashion plate collections and much more.
Database comprised of a growing collection of over 50,000 artworks and 11,000 artists from hundreds of galleries, museums and foundations. More than 25,000 images are currently in the public domain, and available for download for teaching and research purposes
13,000+ full text e-books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
EBSCO eBooks offers a small collection of e-book titles that are required or recommended in Academy of Art University courses.
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free electronic books, or eBooks. Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize, archive, and distribute literary works. The mission of Project Gutenberg is: To encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks
Open Library is a non-profit, open source, digital public library, hosted by the Internet Archive, which lends millions of ebooks to millions of patrons each year.
Inspiring Writing in Art and Design by 
Woe Is I : The Grammarphobe's Guide to Better English in Plain English (Fourth Edition) by 
Singing and Communicating in English by Use the Course Reserves page on the Library website to search for required textbooks.
Access magazines online from the Exact Editions Fashion and Culture Collection and the Architecture Collection.
Access Art and Design magazines online from a computer or download them to a smartphone or tablet using the Flipster mobile app for offline reading.
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. The site hosts Wayback Machine, a searchable archive of the internet's past. Other strengths include retro video games and software, audiobooks, historic manuscripts, newspapers, and other special collections. Make a free account to borrow from a huge online selection of popular books.
Google Arts & Culture (formerly Google Art Project) is an online platform of high-resolution images and videos of artworks and cultural artifacts from partner cultural organizations throughout the world.
Artist Scholar: Reflections on Writing and Research by 
The Craft of Research by 
Creative Research: the theory and practice of research for the creative industries by Step 1. Types of Information
Books & E-Books | Videos & Images | Articles | Internet Resources | Periodical Publications | Government and Corporate | One Perfect Source?
Step 2. Search Strategies
Know your information need | Develop a topic | Refine a topic | Identify Keywords | Search Strings
Step 3. Resource Evaluation
The CRAAP Method | Primary vs Secondary Sources
Step 4: Ethical Use of Information
Incorporate Source Material | Plagiarism | Copyright, Fair Use, and Appropriation | Writing Strategies
Step 5: Citation
MLA Format | MLA Examples | APA Format | APA Examples | Chicago Format | Chicago Examples | Annotated Bibliographies
Do you have a reference question and want to talk to a librarian? Submit your question here and one of our librarians will get back to you within 24 hours, Monday through Friday.
If you would like individual research help, you can also use the Ask a Librarian link above to schedule an appointment with a librarian for a research consultation. You can meet with a librarian online or on the phone.
This service is available to currently enrolled Academy of Art University students and faculty only.
"For those of us teaching higher education in art and design schools, Line Color Form is the answer to a problem so many of us face: How to help bright students, non-native and native speakers alike, who struggle to find words to express what they see."--Yael Samuel, Otis College of Art and Design In exquisite full color with a plethora of instructive visuals, Line Color Form offers a thorough introduction to design theory and terminology in a visually appealing and accessible format.
Life in the image world has made us all voracious, if not always deliberate, consumers of visual messages. Easy access to computer graphic tools has turned many of us into either amateur or professional image producers. But without a basic understanding of visual language, a productive dialogue between producers and consumers of visual communication is impossible.
"Counter Visual Literacy acquaints students with the critical issues that shape the discipline of art and teaches them to write about art from a variety of scholarly and rhetorical perspectives"--Publisher summary.
