13,000+ full text e-books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
Search all of the journals and magazines in Academic Search Premier, Art Source, and OmniFile Full Text Select with only one search!
Provides access to 4 million images, information on trade shows, fashion trend analysis, and information on interiors and beauty.
Daily news on trends and developments in fashion, textiles, accessories, and beauty.
Business and finance information and job listings.
Over 100 new and classic books on fashion. Full access to the 10-volume Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public libraries and universities that offers viewers a large collection of award-winning films and documentaries. The Academy of Art University subscribes to a subset of available films on the Kanopy platform focused on Art, Design, and Film studies.
Search over 330,000 images, including over 114,000 works of art from the collections of contributing museums, universities and archives. Architectural photographs, gardens and landscapes, political Americana, historical maps, fashion plate collections and much more.
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
13,000+ full text e-books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
EBSCO eBooks offers a small collection of e-book titles that are required or recommended in Academy of Art University courses.
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free electronic books, or eBooks. Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize, archive, and distribute literary works. The mission of Project Gutenberg is: To encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks
Open Library is a non-profit, open source, digital public library, hosted by the Internet Archive, which lends millions of ebooks to millions of patrons each year.
The Elements of Style [e-book] by 
Free Gift with Purchase [e-book]: My Improbable Career in Magazines and Makeup by 
The History of Fashion Journalism [e-book] by 
The New York Times Manual of Style and Usage [e-book] by 
So You Want to Publish a Magazine? [e-book] by 
Street Style [e-book]: An Ethnography of Fashion Blogging by 
Adorned in Dreams [ebook] : Fashion and Modernity by Use the Course Reserves page on the Library website to search for required textbooks.
Access magazines online from the Exact Editions Fashion and Culture Collection and the Architecture Collection.
Access Art and Design magazines online from a computer or download them to a smartphone or tablet using the Flipster mobile app for offline reading.
Database comprised of a growing collection of over 50,000 artworks and 11,000 artists from hundreds of galleries, museums and foundations. More than 25,000 images are currently in the public domain, and available for download for teaching and research purposes
A trade publication for apparel and textile executives, focused on sourcing and manufacturing. Includes in-depth features, expert analysis and interviews with industry leaders.
Research and Design (ebook) by 
Sourcing Ideas (ebook) by Step 1. Types of Information
Books & E-Books | Videos & Images | Articles | Internet Resources | Periodical Publications | Government and Corporate | One Perfect Source?
Step 2. Search Strategies
Know your information need | Develop a topic | Refine a topic | Identify Keywords | Search Strings
Step 3. Resource Evaluation
The CRAAP Method | Primary vs Secondary Sources
Step 4: Ethical Use of Information
Incorporate Source Material | Plagiarism | Copyright, Fair Use, and Appropriation | Writing Strategies
Step 5: Citation
MLA Format | MLA Examples | APA Format | APA Examples | Chicago Format | Chicago Examples | Annotated Bibliographies
Do you have a reference question and want to talk to a librarian? Submit your question here and one of our librarians will get back to you within 24 hours, Monday through Friday.
If you would like individual research help, you can also use the Ask a Librarian link above to schedule an appointment with a librarian for a research consultation. You can meet with a librarian online or on the phone.
This service is available to currently enrolled Academy of Art University students and faculty only.
"The History of Fashion Journalism is a uniquely comprehensive study of the development of the industry from its origins to the present day and including professionals like Dylan Jones"--Publisher summary.
Discussions of fashion proliferate in an ever-increasing range of media, from newspapers and magazines to tweets and TV programs. Fashion Journalism: History, Theory and Practice is an accessible, comprehensive guide to writing about fashion in any form, whether in style blogging, magazine interviews, news reportage or art reviews. Exploring what sets fashion journalism apart from other forms of journalistic writing, the book features a wide range of global fashion case studies.
"This text fills the gap between general writing classes and upper-level fashion courses that address writing for specific sectors of the fashion business, such as merchandising or promotion. Real-world examples, case studies, and industry profiles provide models of the challenges of writing for the fashion industry and discuss issues of form and content."--AbeBooks
