Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Liberal Arts Research at the AAU Library
Welcome to the Academy of Art Library guide for research in the Liberal Arts. This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools for finding books, scholarly articles, reviews, and other topical and collection-related information. Please use the informational tabs to find resources in different information categories. Please see the research guide for the School of Art History for resources in that area of study.
Check out the selection of new Liberal Arts related materials at AAU Library
Selected Databases for Research
Use this link to see the complete list of database subscriptions for the Academy of Art Library.
9,000+ full text books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
EBSCO - Search Academic Search Premier, Art Source, & OmniFile
Search all of the journals and magazines in Academic Search Premier, Art Source, and OmniFile Full Text Select with only one search!
US Major Dailies
Full-text access to the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Los Angeles Times, the Washington Post, and the Christian Science Monitor.
An online encyclopedia of world art and art history, spanning from prehistoric to modern art. Contains artist biographies, information about art movements, timelines of world art, definitions of art terms, and links to image collections.
Ask a Librarian
Do you have a reference question, but can't make it to the library to talk to a librarian? Submit your question here and one of our librarians will get back to you within 24 hours, Monday through Friday. During business hours you can give us a call at 415-618-3842 to speak to a librarian.
If you would like individual research help, you can also use the Ask a Librarian link above to schedule an appointment with a librarian for a research consultation. You can meet with a librarian in person, online, or on the phone.
This service is available to currently enrolled Academy of Art University students and faculty only.