13,000+ full text e-books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
Search all of the journals and magazines in Academic Search Premier, Art Source, and OmniFile Full Text Select with only one search!
JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
Over 100 new and classic books on fashion. Full access to the 10-volume Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion.
Database comprised of a growing collection of over 50,000 artworks and 11,000 artists from hundreds of galleries, museums and foundations. More than 25,000 images are currently in the public domain, and available for download for teaching and research purposes
Search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids. Thousands of images are now available without restrictions and free of charge through the Open Content Program.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public libraries and universities that offers viewers a large collection of award-winning films and documentaries. The Academy of Art University subscribes to a subset of available films on the Kanopy platform focused on Art, Design, and Film studies.
Search over 330,000 images, including over 114,000 works of art from the collections of contributing museums, universities and archives. Architectural photographs, gardens and landscapes, political Americana, historical maps, fashion plate collections and much more.
13,000+ full text e-books in over 18 subjects, including art, history, and technology.
EBSCO eBooks offers a small collection of e-book titles that are required or recommended in Academy of Art University courses.
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free electronic books, or eBooks. Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize, archive, and distribute literary works. The mission of Project Gutenberg is: To encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks
Open Library is a non-profit, open source, digital public library, hosted by the Internet Archive, which lends millions of ebooks to millions of patrons each year.
Photography Beyond Technique (e-book) by 
Tolstoy's 'What Is Art?' (e-book) by 
Seizing the Light (e-book) by 
Light: - Science and Magic (e-book) by 
Adobe Photoshop CC for Photographers 2018 (e-book) by Use the Course Reserves page on the Library website to search for required textbooks.
Access magazines online from the Exact Editions Fashion and Culture Collection and the Architecture Collection.
Access Art and Design magazines online from a computer or download them to a smartphone or tablet using the Flipster mobile app for offline reading.
Explore millions of digital resources from Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections, including images, texts, sound, and videos.
Behind the Image (e-book) by 
The Essence of Photography (e-book) by Step 1. Types of Information
Books & E-Books | Videos & Images | Articles | Internet Resources | Periodical Publications | Government and Corporate | One Perfect Source?
Step 2. Search Strategies
Know your information need | Develop a topic | Refine a topic | Identify Keywords | Search Strings
Step 3. Resource Evaluation
The CRAAP Method | Primary vs Secondary Sources
Step 4: Ethical Use of Information
Incorporate Source Material | Plagiarism | Copyright, Fair Use, and Appropriation | Writing Strategies
Step 5: Citation
MLA Format | MLA Examples | APA Format | APA Examples | Chicago Format | Chicago Examples | Annotated Bibliographies
Do you have a reference question and want to talk to a librarian? Submit your question here and one of our librarians will get back to you within 24 hours, Monday through Friday.
If you would like individual research help, you can also use the Ask a Librarian link above to schedule an appointment with a librarian for a research consultation. You can meet with a librarian online or on the phone.
This service is available to currently enrolled Academy of Art University students and faculty only.
Unlike many other artistic media, photography's origins are well documented, as are its ever-changing technologies and applications. Written by an international team of experts, this definitive history of photography looks at every step of the field's dynamic evolution, period by period and movement by movement. Each key genre is chronologically presented within its social, economic, and political context, along with close analysis of specially selected works that best exemplify the characteristics of the period.
Ever since the early 1970s Goldin has lived with and among drag queens, documenting both their glamour and their struggles. The Other Side is her very personal declaration of love and gratitude to these drag queens, who showed her a way out of the captivity of pre-packaged, socially prescribed identity. As she put it: "The pictures in this book are not of people suffering gender dysphoria but rather expressing gender euphoria.... The people in these pictures are truly revolutionary; they are the real winners in the battle of the sexes because they have stepped out of the ring".
Adobe Photoshop Lightroom Classic CC is one of the most powerful tools a digital photographer has in their toolset, offering powerful editing features in a streamlined interface that lets photographers import, sort, and organize images. In this completely updated bestseller, author Martin Evening describes Lightroom Classic CC features in detail, covering library organization, develop image processing, output modules, and the latest Lightroom CC/mobile features.
Amnesty International, the Nobel Peace Prize-winning human rights organization, celebrates its 50th anniversary in 2011. In recognition of this milestone, powerHouse Books presents Dignity, a collection of photographs by Dana Gluckstein that celebrates the lives and cultures of Indigenous Peoples worldwide. This lavishly printed hardcover is filled with beautiful and inspiring images of this under-documented segment of the globe's population.
Today, being a professional photographer is about much more than the ability to make a technically perfect image, and photographers need to use many other skills that go beyond the production of a photograph. What are the relationships between photographer and clients really like? How should you prepare for a special effects shoot? What steps should you take to protect your equipment while shooting on location? In Photographers at Work, photographer and best-selling author Martin Evening examines these issues and much more, offering advice to help you succeed in an ever-changing-and challenging-field.
