Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library FAQ: Database Login Issues

A hub for frequently asked questions regarding Academy of Art University Library resources.

What library resources are available to me as an online student?

We have e-books and databases of academic research articles and more, all available on the Online Resources page and listed here:

 

 

 

Another place to see what’s available that supports the work in your major is the Department Research Guides.

Remember that you can ask a librarian to help you find relevant resources for your assignments.

Return to Top

How do I access my AAU student email account?

I can’t find the confirmation email that was sent to me when I signed up for an account for a database.

The Messenger (envelope icon) in Portal is not the same as your @art.edu email address. The Messenger in Portal is only for internal messaging in your courses between your instructor and your classmates.

To access your student email, you must follow these steps to sign into Office 365 and access your Outlook inbox. 

1. Navigate to the Resources Tile > Student Email in the LMS Portal.

             

2. Click Login. It should prompt a page with a Sign In button and an Office 365 login page.

3. Enter your @art.edu email address. The screen will then change to this landing page. Enter the password you used to log into Portal.  

 

4. Once signed in, click on the Outlook icon    (in left sidebar).

Please check your student email following the instructions provided and look for an account confirmation email (e.g., from “noreply@wgsn.com”). This email may also be in your spam folder.

If you are having issues going through the links via your Student Portal/LMS, please try going directly to Outlook.com and sign in with your @art.edu email address there. It will then automatically change to the AAU Outlook landing page as seen above. Then enter your password and access your student email account.

Return to Top

How do I create an account for WWD?

An account is not required to view WWD if you are accessing it from the links on the AAU Library website. You will see “WELCOME ACADEMY OF ART – ARCHIVE 95149” next to the search box at the top of the screen. 

If you see "Subscribe | Log In" instead of this welcome notification, please try using another web browser. Please contact us if you are having issues when using other web browsers.

Please note: The AAU Library’s access does not include “Today’s Digital Daily.”

When logging into this database off-campus, you will see a login screen to enter your name and student ID. For issues regarding this screen, see the troubleshooting steps for logging into the library. 

Return to Top

How do I create an account for WGSN?

An account is required to download images and other design resources from WGSN (anything from the Images and Design Resources tabs). Browsing WGSN does not require an account if you are accessing it from the links on the AAU Library website.

WGSN accounts need to be reactivated every 120 days. You will automatically reactivate your account when you log in to WGSN normally.

If you are having issues, you can try clicking on “Forget password or need help?” to reset your password. The password email comes from "noreply@wgsn.com" with the subject line “WGSN Password Reset.”

If you are still running into issues, please contact us and we will reset your account for you.

Please note: The AAU Library only subscribes to the Fashion and City by City sections of the site (see highlighted in screenshot above).

When logging into this database off-campus, you will see a login screen to enter your name and student ID. For issues regarding this screen, see the troubleshooting steps for logging into the library

Return to Top

How do I create an account for Mintel?

An account is not required to view and download reports if you are accessing Mintel from the links on the AAU Library website. After you click on the link from the Library website, you will need to check the box “I agree to the terms of use” before the option to click “Continue” will appear.

You will see “Welcome, Academy of Art University user” at the top right-hand corner of the screen if you have logged in correctly.

Creating an account allows you to save your search history, get email alerts on topics, and create presentation decks in Mintel.

When logging into this database off-campus, you will see a login screen to enter your name and student ID. For issues regarding this screen, see the troubleshooting steps for logging into the library

Return to Top

How do I create an account for EBSCO?

An account is not required to view and download articles in any EBSCO database if you are accessing it through the AAU Library website. Creating an account is only required if you want to create article alerts, set search preferences, create folders, save articles to those folders, and save previous search history across EBSCO sessions.   

Click here to learn more about how to create an EBSCO account.

When logging into this database off-campus, you will see a login screen to enter your name and student ID. For issues regarding this screen, see the troubleshooting steps for logging into the library

Return to Top

How do I create an account for JSTOR?

An account is not required to view and download articles in JSTOR if you are accessing it through the AAU Library website. You will see “Access provided by Academy of Art University” at the top of the screen if you have logged in correctly.

Creating a personal account is only required if you want to save your research and citations in a personal "Workspace." You can also link your account to the library’s access to access JSTOR content without having to go through the library website. Keep in mind that this account linking needs to be renewed every 90 days. Click here to read more about how to set up a personal account.

When logging into this database off-campus, you will see a login screen to enter your name and student ID. For issues regarding this screen, see the troubleshooting steps for logging into the library

Return to Top

How do I create an account for Material ConneXion?

An account is not required to view Material ConneXion if you are accessing it from the links on the AAU Library website. You will see “Academy of Art University” at the top right-hand corner of the screen above “Member Log In” if you have logged in correctly.

Creating an account is only required if you want to save materials to boards to revisit later. (You can also export the list to an Excel spreadsheet or email the list as a set of links).

When logging into this database off-campus, you will see a login screen to enter your name and student ID. For issues regarding this screen, see the troubleshooting steps for logging into the library

Return to Top

Questions about using a specific database?

Each database has a specific purpose. The kind of information you need determines how you can find it.

You can find answers to frequently asked questions about searching through our subscription databases here

You can also view research tutorials for some guided video examples.

Consider scheduling a research appointment with a librarian - we're always happy to help! 

Return to Top

Try clearing browser cache

Clearing your browser cache in your web browser’s settings may help address issues in some instances. Once you clear your browser cache, close the browser and open it up again to attempt to connect to the library website.

If you are still experiencing issues, please provide us answers to the questions mentioned above along with a screenshot of what you see on screen.

For assistance on these troubleshooting steps, check these pages from the AAU Online Help Desk:

Clearing Cache

Taking screenshots

Return to Top

Don't See Your Question Here?

Don’t see your question or issue listed here? Please reach out to us, we’re always happy to help!

Ask a Librarian

--------------------------------------