Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Visual Literacy and Visual Resouces
Visual literacy is a set of abilities that enables an individual to effectively find, interpret, evaluate, use, and create images and visual media. Visual literacy skills equip a learner to understand and analyze the contextual, cultural, ethical, aesthetic, intellectual, and technical components involved in the production and use of visual materials. A visually literate student is both a critical consumer of visual media and a competent contributor to a body of shared knowledge and culture.
It is essential to use and cite images correctly when you include them in your research and writing. These tutorials will help you to find the images you are looking for and to use them correctly.
Luna Image Database
LUNA Digital Image Collections
Search over 330,000 images, including over 114,000 works of art from the collections of contributing museums, universities and archives. Architectural photographs, gardens and landscapes, political Americana, historical maps, fashion plate collections and much more.
- Images from the Saskia Gardner's Art through the Ages art history set.
- The AMICA Library, which contains over 95,000 works of art from the collections of contributing museums.
- Architectural photographs, gardens and landscapes, political Americana, historical maps, fashion plate collections and much more.
- LUNA tutorials provide information on navigating LUNA, creating Media Groups, and more. Tutorials include:
- The following LUNA Search Guides are available:
In addition to LUNA, the library has a curated list of image resources on our Digital Images page.
Visual Research Methodology Books
Visual Research Methodology Media
How to look at and understand great art [DVD]
What does it take to truly know what you're seeing when you look at art? What technical skills and knowledge are needed to unpack the hidden significance of paintings, sculptures, prints, and more? These 36 lectures take you on an in-depth exploration of the practical skill of viewing art through the lenses of line, light, perspective, composition, and other crucial elements of craft and technique.